Saturday, July 31, 2010

Scavenger Hunt, Etsy style, part 1


Pine Cone



Scavenger Hunt, part 2

Muggle Trash

Water Balloon

Edible plant

Creature that lives in the lake

Scavenger hunt, part 3



Hogwarts Pride

Bathing Suit

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

I got Wingo!

Straight across the second row:

W: Catriona has seen every HP movie in the theater.

I: Emma Gorodok dyes her own yarn.

N: Lexie Lovegood is a HSKS newbie.

G: Genevra has 3 siblings, plus some step-siblings.

O: Hermione has way more things in her queue. 621 to my 50!


In the interest of helping out my fellow campers, I've got some info about me :-)

I worked at a YMCA camp in Western NY for 5 years.

I've been on the train a bunch of times. I like riding trains. My longest trip was riding from Alabama to NY and then back for Thanksgiving one year. I even got one of those little sleeper cabins. That was lots of fun.

I speak a smidge of Spanish and Hebrew. Can't really converse in Hebrew, though, just read and understand prayer.

I've dyed my own yarn a bunch of times. My old guild always had a dye day every summer. But I can't really say I do it regularly. Not more than once or twice a year.

I have 3 siblings, to brothers and a sister.

I've got 50 items in my queue.

My patronus is a hawk.

I collect cats, and I collect sheet music that has the name Amy in the title (Amy is my muggle name)

I do make stitch markers, but usually just for swapping. So I don't have any of the ones I've made.

I live in Central Mass.

My favorite sweet treat is dark chocolate.

I played quidditch last term and in the earlier HSKS swap that was a whole season of quidditch. I've played seeker and beater.

I do own all of the Harry Potter movies, and all of the books.

This is my 5th HSKS swap.

I've done a 3 day, 2 night camp out, at Rhinebeck a couple of years ago. It was so cold!

I play the piano.

My birthday is in June.

Monday, July 12, 2010

First camp assignment

A little questionnaire to help our spoilers :-)

Knit or crochet or both? Both, just started crocheting last week :-)
Brands you would like to try but don't have easy access to: nothing specific comes to mind
Favorite fibers/least favorite fibers I like bamboo and tencel a lot, don't like anything too scratchy.
Favorite colors/least favorite colors I love blues, greens, aquas, purples, reds, yellows, pretty much everything. I do prefer clear, true colors over muted colors.
Yarn weight preferences Usually I say fat yarn goes faster, but lately I've been using a lot of sock yarn.
Favorite projects Socks for knitting. I'm not sure yet crocheting, I haven't done enough yet.
Favorite gadgets Stitch markers. Row counters help a lot, too.
Favorite designers Don't have a favorite.
Salty or Sweet or...? Both, preferably together. I love chocolate, the darker the better.
Tea or Coffee or...? Both, plain or flavored. My favorite tea is Earl Grey.
Allergies None that matter. Just bee stings.
Other things you like, i.e., buttons, pens, fabric, stitchmarkers, etc. Stitch markers, row counters, anything an experienced crocheter thinks would be helpful to one starting out.
Currently Craving The new M&Ms with pretzels inside.
Where you might have wish lists (Loopy Ewe, Amazon, Etsy) Just my blog. Never thought of setting one up anywhere else. Didn't know Etsy had one, so I might go look at that.
Measurements (feet for socks, wrists, head circumference) Size 7 feet. Wrist circumference 6". Head, well, I don't usually wear hats.